In this category:

    FICTION & NON-FICTION - books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets
    BOOKS
    BOOKS. The final chapter?
    - Book News
    FICTION & NON-FICTION - books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets
    BOOKS
    BOOKS. The final chapter?
    - Book Stories
    FICTION & NON-FICTION - books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets
    FICTION & NONFICTION ARCHIVE
    Archive I-J

New on FdM

  1. Making Evil: The Science Behind Humanity’s Dark Side by Dr Julia Shaw
  2. After Mozart (Heroin on 5th Street) poetry by Robert Lundquist
  3. Agnita Feis: Menschenmateriaal (gedicht)
  4. August Stramm: Mondschein (Gedicht)
  5. Will Streets: A Soldier’s Funeral (Poem)
  6. Quichotte (novel) by Salman Rushdie
  7. Georg Trakl: Nähe des Todes (Gedicht)
  8. The Brooklyn Book Festival 2019: September 16 – 23
  9. Francisca Stoecklin: Morphina (Gedicht)
  10. Das 19. internationale literaturfestival berlin

Or see the index

All categories

  1. AUDIO, CINEMA, RADIO & TV (131)
  2. DANCE (50)
  3. DICTIONARY OF IDEAS (168)
  4. EXHIBITION – art, art history, photos, paintings, drawings, sculpture, ready-mades, video, performing arts, collages, gallery, etc. (1,362)
  5. FICTION & NON-FICTION – books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets (2,753)
  6. FLEURSDUMAL POETRY LIBRARY – classic, modern, experimental & visual & sound poetry, poetry in translation, city poets, poetry archive, pre-raphaelites, editor's choice, etc. (3,788)
  7. LITERARY NEWS & EVENTS – art & literature news, in memoriam, festivals, city-poets, writers in Residence (1,432)
  8. MONTAIGNE (98)
  9. MUSEUM OF LOST CONCEPTS – invisible poetry, conceptual writing, spurensicherung (48)
  10. MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY – department of ravens & crows, birds of prey, riding a zebra (89)
  11. MUSEUM OF PUBLIC PROTEST (75)
  12. MUSIC (171)
  13. PRESS & PUBLISHING (75)
  14. REPRESSION OF WRITERS, JOURNALISTS & ARTISTS (90)
  15. STORY ARCHIVE – olv van de veestraat, reading room, tales for fellow citizens (16)
  16. STREET POETRY (41)
  17. THEATRE (174)
  18. TOMBEAU DE LA JEUNESSE – early death: writers, poets & artists who died young (241)
  19. ULTIMATE LIBRARY – danse macabre, ex libris, grimm & co, fairy tales, art of reading, tales of mystery & imagination, sherlock holmes theatre, erotic poetry, ideal women (172)
  20. WAR & PEACE (74)
  21. · (5)

Or see the index



  1. Subscribe to new material: RSS

Negrophobia. An Urban Parable by Darius James

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is negrophobia.jpegA screenplay for the mind, a performance on the page, a work of poetry, a mad mix of genres and styles, a novel in the tradition of William S. Burroughs and Ishmael Reed that is like no other novel, Negrophobia begins with the blonde bombshell Bubbles Brazil succumbing to a voodoo spell and entering the inner darkness of her own shiny being.

Here crackheads parade in the guise of Muppets, Muslims beat conga drums, Negroes have numbers for names, and H. Rap Remus demands the total and instantaneous extermination of the white race through spontaneous combustion. By the end of it all, after going on a weird trip for the ages, Bubbles herself is strangely transformed.

Title Negrophobia
Subtitle An Urban Parable
Author Darius James
Publisher New York Review Books
Series: NYRB Classics
Published 19 February 2019
Format Paperback
ISBN-10 1681373297
ISBN-13 9781681373294
Pages: 208
$14.95

# new books
Darius James
Negrophobia

• fleursdumal.nl magazine

More in: - Book News, - Book Stories, Archive I-J

Previous and Next Entry

« | »

Thank you for reading FLEURSDUMAL.NL - magazine for art & literature