In this category:

    FICTION & NON-FICTION - books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets
    BOOKS
    BOOKS. The final chapter?
    - Book News
    FICTION & NON-FICTION - books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets
    BOOKS
    BOOKS. The final chapter?
    - Bookstores
    FICTION & NON-FICTION - books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets
    FICTION & NONFICTION ARCHIVE
    Archive E-F
    LITERARY NEWS & EVENTS - art & literature news, in memoriam, festivals, city-poets, writers in Residence
    Art & Literature News

New on FdM

  1. Bert Bevers: Jaag zacht
  2. My Twentieth Century Evening and Other Small Breakthroughs. The Nobel Lecture by Kazuo Ishiguro
  3. John Hay: The Prairie
  4. Het diepste blauw (011). Een roman van Ton van Reen
  5. Lecture & rencontre: Kate Tempest à Paris – Écoute la ville tomber
  6. Gouden Ganzenveerlaureaat 2018: Antjie Krog
  7. Annemarie Slobbe: “To live is to let go.”
  8. Het diepste blauw (010). Een roman van Ton van Reen
  9. Dichter und Kunstfigur, Provokateur und Visionär: Julia Encke über den französischen Literatur-Star Michel Houellebecq
  10. Konstantin Sloetsjevski: Zij lag gekleed als Colombine (vertaling Paul Bezembinder)

Or see the index

All categories

  1. CINEMA, RADIO & TV (65)
  2. DANCE (44)
  3. DICTIONARY OF IDEAS (136)
  4. EXHIBITION – art, art history, photos, paintings, drawings, sculpture, ready-mades, video, performing arts, collages, gallery, etc. (1,202)
  5. FICTION & NON-FICTION – books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets (2,062)
  6. FLEURSDUMAL POETRY LIBRARY – classic, modern, experimental & visual & sound poetry, poetry in translation, city poets, poetry archive, pre-raphaelites, editor's choice, etc. (3,309)
  7. LITERARY NEWS & EVENTS – art & literature news, in memoriam, festivals, city-poets, writers in Residence (1,076)
  8. MONTAIGNE (74)
  9. MUSEUM OF LOST CONCEPTS – invisible poetry, conceptual writing, spurensicherung (39)
  10. MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY – department of ravens & crows, birds of prey, riding a zebra (67)
  11. MUSEUM OF PUBLIC PROTEST- photos, texts, videos, street poetry (62)
  12. MUSIC (128)
  13. PRESS & PUBLISHING (43)
  14. REPRESSION OF WRITERS, JOURNALISTS & ARTISTS (62)
  15. STORY ARCHIVE – olv van de veestraat, reading room, tales for fellow citizens (16)
  16. STREET POETRY (17)
  17. THEATRE (131)
  18. TOMBEAU DE LA JEUNESSE – early death: writers, poets & artists who died young (211)
  19. ULTIMATE LIBRARY – danse macabre, ex libris, grimm and others, fairy tales, the art of reading, tales of mystery & imagination, sherlock holmes theatre, erotic poetry, the ideal woman (112)
  20. · (2)

Or see the index



  1. Subscribe to new material: RSS

Lost in a Good Book. A Thursday Next Novel by Jasper Fforde

The second installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England.

The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with New York Times bestselling author Jasper Fforde’s magnificent second adventure starring the resourceful, fearless literary sleuth Thursday Next.

When Landen, the love of her life, is eradicated by the corrupt multinational Goliath Corporation, Thursday must moonlight as a Prose Resource Operative of Jurisfiction—the police force inside the BookWorld. She is apprenticed to the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens’s Great Expectations, who grudgingly shows Thursday the ropes. And she gains just enough skill to get herself in a real mess entering the pages of Poe’s “The Raven.” What she really wants is to get Landen back.

But this latest mission is not without further complications. Along with jumping into the works of Kafka and Austen, and even Beatrix Potter’s The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself, and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth. It’s another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment for fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse.

Thursday’s zany investigations continue with The Well of Lost Plots. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit website jasperfforde.com for a full window into the Ffordian world!

Jasper Fforde traded a varied career in the film industry for staring vacantly out the window and arranging words on a page. He lives and writes in Wales. The Eyre Affair was his first novel in the bestselling Thursday Next series. He is also the author of Shades of Grey and the Nursery Crime series.

Lost in a Good Book
A Thursday Next Novel
By Jasper Fforde
Part of A Thursday Next Novel
Category: Mystery & Suspense | Literary Fiction | Contemporary Fantasy
Paperback
2004 – 432 Pages
Penguin Random House

fleursdumal.nl magazine

More in: - Book News, - Bookstores, Archive E-F, Art & Literature News

Previous and Next Entry

« | »

Thank you for reading FLEURSDUMAL.NL - magazine for art & literature