In this category:

    FICTION & NON-FICTION - books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets
    BOOKS
    BOOKS. The final chapter?
    - Book News
    FICTION & NON-FICTION - books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets
    BOOKS
    BOOKS. The final chapter?
    - Book Stories
    FLEURSDUMAL POETRY LIBRARY - classic, modern, experimental & visual & sound poetry, poetry in translation, city poets, poetry archive, pre-raphaelites, editor's choice, etc.
    POETRY ARCHIVE
    Archive Q-R
    LITERARY NEWS & EVENTS - art & literature news, in memoriam, festivals, city-poets, writers in Residence
    Art & Literature News
    FLEURSDUMAL POETRY LIBRARY - classic, modern, experimental & visual & sound poetry, poetry in translation, city poets, poetry archive, pre-raphaelites, editor's choice, etc.
    EXPERIMENTAL POETRY

New on FdM

  1. Tori Telfer: Lady Killers. Deadly Women Throughout History
  2. Gladys Cromwell: The Poet
  3. Patti Smith: The New Jerusalem – Bilingual edition – Nexus Library
  4. Ton van Reen: Het diepste blauw (058). Een roman als feuilleton
  5. Kunstenfestival Watou 2018 van 30 juni t/m 2 september
  6. Lord Byron: When we two parted
  7. Ton van Reen: Het diepste blauw (057). Een roman als feuilleton
  8. Guillaume Apollinaire: La Dame
  9. Gertrud Kolmar: Der Engel im Walde
  10. Samuel Taylor Coleridge: Rime of the Ancient Mariner

Or see the index

All categories

  1. CINEMA, RADIO & TV (77)
  2. DANCE (45)
  3. DICTIONARY OF IDEAS (144)
  4. EXHIBITION – art, art history, photos, paintings, drawings, sculpture, ready-mades, video, performing arts, collages, gallery, etc. (1,235)
  5. FICTION & NON-FICTION – books, booklovers, lit. history, biography, essays, translations, short stories, columns, literature: celtic, beat, travesty, war, dada & de stijl, drugs, dead poets (2,265)
  6. FLEURSDUMAL POETRY LIBRARY – classic, modern, experimental & visual & sound poetry, poetry in translation, city poets, poetry archive, pre-raphaelites, editor's choice, etc. (3,458)
  7. LITERARY NEWS & EVENTS – art & literature news, in memoriam, festivals, city-poets, writers in Residence (1,183)
  8. MONTAIGNE (86)
  9. MUSEUM OF LOST CONCEPTS – invisible poetry, conceptual writing, spurensicherung (41)
  10. MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY – department of ravens & crows, birds of prey, riding a zebra (75)
  11. MUSEUM OF PUBLIC PROTEST- photos, texts, videos, street poetry, 1968 (70)
  12. MUSIC (140)
  13. PRESS & PUBLISHING (57)
  14. REPRESSION OF WRITERS, JOURNALISTS & ARTISTS (72)
  15. STORY ARCHIVE – olv van de veestraat, reading room, tales for fellow citizens (16)
  16. STREET POETRY (21)
  17. THEATRE (138)
  18. TOMBEAU DE LA JEUNESSE – early death: writers, poets & artists who died young (219)
  19. ULTIMATE LIBRARY – danse macabre, ex libris, grimm & co, fairy tales, art of reading, tales of mystery & imagination, sherlock holmes theatre, erotic poetry, ideal women (132)
  20. WAR & PEACE (41)
  21. · (2)

Or see the index



  1. Subscribe to new material: RSS

Invocation to Daughters, poetry by Barbara Jane Reyes

Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet.

Invocation to Daughters is a book of prayers, psalms, and odes for Filipina girls and women trying to survive and make sense of their own situations. Writing in an English inflected with Tagalog and Spanish, in meditations on the relationship between fathers and daughters and impassioned pleas on behalf of victims of brutality, Barbara Jane Reyes unleashes the colonized tongue in a lyrical feminist broadside written from a place of shared humanity.

Barbara Jane Reyes is the author of Invocation to Daughters (City Lights Spotlight Poetry Series, 2017). She was born in Manila, Philippines, raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, and is the author of four previous collections of poetry, To Love as Aswang (Philippine American Writers and Artists, Inc., 2015), Gravities of Center (Arkipelago Books, 2003), Poeta en San Francisco (Tinfish Press, 2005), which received the James Laughlin Award of the Academy of American Poets, and Diwata (BOA Editions, Ltd., 2010), which received the Global Filipino Literary Award for Poetry. She is also the author of the chapbooks Easter Sunday (Ypolita Press, 2008) Cherry (Portable Press at Yo-Yo Labs, 2008), and For the City that Nearly Broke Me (Aztlán Libre Press, 2012). Invocation to Daughters is volume 16 in the City Lights Spotlight Series.

Invocation to Daughters
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 16
Barbara Jane Reyes
Publisher City Lights Publishers
Format Paperback
First Published 07 November 2017
Nb of pages 86 p.
ISBN-10 0872867471
ISBN-13 9780872867475
List Price $14.95

Invocation to Daughters is included in this list of books that are “urgent as ever” in todays’ political climate. – Publishers Weekly

fleursdumal.nl magazine

More in: - Book News, - Book Stories, Archive Q-R, Art & Literature News, EXPERIMENTAL POETRY

Previous and Next Entry

« | »

Thank you for reading FLEURSDUMAL.NL - magazine for art & literature